DIY: Cream of … Soup

Couponing has gotten harder, so I have been trying to save money by making more things from scratch. One item that I hadn’t even thought about making from scratch was Cream of … Soup. I am constantly adding cream of mushroom, cream of chicken, cream of celery ,and cream of potato soups into recipes, yet it hadn’t even crossed my mind. That is until Pinterest. On a recent viewing session I saw this post, and had to do it.

I have been printing a lot lately and was out of ink. So I figured I could just look at the recipe online and print a label later. After reading all the reader comments, I decided to go ahead and double the recipe right away. So after fixing dinner for the family, I set to work.

Did I mention it was the end of the day, and I was a bit tired? Anyway, I poured all of the ingredients into the food processor in order to blend them well and break up any lingering large chicken bouillon cubes. It went quickly, so I poured most of it into a storage container, and made a test batch to try. It was good, but I was surprised by how spicy it seemed, not exactly what I had envisioned, but not bad. I decided to double check the recipe and noticed that instead of adding teaspoons of thyme, basil, and pepper, I added Tablespoons. Uh oh! My Vet (who knows my history with trying to follow a recipe) is snickering as he reads this.

Not being someone who likes to waste, I wasn’t about to toss it. Instead, I grabbed a teaspoon and a Tablespoon in order to calculate the difference and then adjust the other ingredients accordingly. At this point I was fully committed. I sure hoped it tasted good, or I would be tweaking it until did!

Luckily, My math skills are better than my ability to follow directions. I had to wait until later when I could get to the store to replenish depleted ingredients. This also allowed me to double check my calculations.

Success! I can happily say that it tastes great, and I am glad that I have such a large stock to use.

Cream of “something” soup recipe
1 cup non-fat dried milk
3/4 cup cornstarch
1/4 cup bouillon (if you have cubes you have to smash them up)
You can use whatever kind you like (ie, beef, veggie)
4 Tablespoons freeze dried minced onions
1 teaspoon dried basil
1 teaspoon dried thyme
1 teaspoon pepper
 

**For the equivalent of one can of condensed cream soup, mix 1/3 cup dry mix with 1 1/4 cup water. Cook until thick.

3 responses to “DIY: Cream of … Soup

  1. I use a lot of condensed soups in the crockpot. Does this recipe equal a can of soup right out of the can? Can I add the mix and water right to the crockpot? Thanks!

  2. For the equivalent of one can of condensed cream soup, mix 1/3 cup dry mix with 1 1/4 cup water.I use it in my crockpot as a subsitute for condensed soup, OFTEN. Since it is a base and doesn't already have the mushrooms, chicken, potato, celery etc., add some of that as well.I am still using it for the first time in old family favorite recipes, and My Vet and I can't believe how much better they taste!Good luck

  3. Pingback: Cheesey Wild Rice Soup | cindyriddle·

Leave a Reply

